IRONMAN World Championship 2023: Full Men’s Start List and Bib Numbers for Nice showdown

IRONMAN World Championship 2023: Full Men’s Start List and Bib Numbers for Nice showdown

For the first time ever, Nice will host the men’s IRONMAN World Championship this weekend, as the best athletes in the world head to the South of France to fight it out for a shot at the biggest prize in long-course triathlon.

On Sunday, former world champions Jan Frodeno and Patrick Lange, along with previous podium finishers such as home favourite Sam Laidlow will line up on the French Riviera, with every one of the men on the start list harbouring ambitions of success, especially in the absence of defending champion Gustav Iden.

Sadly this stellar field lost another major player on Tuesday with Denmark’s Daniel Baekkegard announcing that he has still not fully recovered from the illness he picked up while competing in the PTO Tour Asian Open in Singapore last month.

We have all the details you need on the full start list for the men’s race in Nice, including bib numbers for each individual athlete. Also, we’ve included the start times and streaming information so you can stay up-to-date with all the action this weekend.

IRONMAN World Championship Start List – Pro Men

The start list – as it stands – is as follows for Sunday’s big race:

1 Jan Frodeno GER
2 Patrick Lange GER
3 Sam Laidlow FRA
5 Joe Skipper GBR
6 Leon Chevalier FRA
7 Magnus Ditlev DEN
8 Clement Mignon FRA
9 Braden Currie NZL
10 Denis Chevrot FRA
11 Rudy Von Berg USA
12 Daniel Baekkegard DEN
14 Pieter Heemeryck BEL
15 Kristian Hogenhaug DEN
16 Bradley Weiss RSA
17 Matt Hanson USA
18 Mathias Petersen DEN
19 Gregory Barnaby ITA
20 Chris Leiferman USA
21 Cameron Wurf AUS
22 Bart Aernouts BEL
23 Arnaud Guilloux FRA
25 Mike Phillips NZL
27 Robert Wilkowiecki POL
28 Franz Loeschke GER
29 Niek Heldoom NED
30 Jonas Hoffman GER
32 Andreas Salvisberg SUI
33 Rasmus Svenningsson SWE
34 Leonard Arnold GER
35 Brent McMahon CAN
36 Michael Weiss CAN
37 Fernando Toldi BRA
39 Kristian Grue NOR
40 Adam Feigh USA
41 Andres Lopes USA
42 Maximillian Hammerie AUT
43 Georg Enzenberger AUT
44 Tuan Chun Chang TWN
45 Reinaldo Colucci BRA
46 Matthew Marquardt USA
47 Oliver Martinussen DEN
48 Benjamin Hill AUS
49 Arthur Horseau FRA
50 Remi Conte FRA
51 Ben Phillips NZL
52 Nathan Dortmann AUS

What time does the race start?

The professional men’s race in Nice will start at 06:50 local time on Sunday September 10 from the Plage des Ponchettes, which corresponds to 05:50 UK time. That is 00:50 Sunday on the East Coast of the United States or 21:50 PST Saturday.

How can I watch live?

The race will be broadcast live on The IRONMAN Website and also on social media via Facebook Watch on the IRONMAN Now channel, and also via IRONMAN Now on YouTube.

There will be additional pre-race coverage in the build-up to the race with interviews and behind-the-scenes content. The IRONMAN commentary is set to be hosted by Michael Lovato and Dede Griesbauer, with Greg Welch and Matt Lieto adding on-course reporting.

Perhaps more than ever, the IRONMAN Tracker app on your phone / mobile device, alongside the broadcast coverage, is your essential companion to keep up to date with all of the on-course action.

Tomos Land

Written by

Tomos Land

Tomos Land is a triathlon & running journalist whose expertise lies in the professional world of short course & long distance triathlon, though he also boasts an extensive knowledge of ultra-running.

Latest News

Daniel Baekkegard - IRONMAN 70.3 Lanzarote 2023 - bike

Daniel Baekkegard says ‘it f***ing sucks’ as illness rules him out of IRONMAN World Championship

IRONMAN France Nice 2023 bike course

IRONMAN World Championship 2023: Nice course guide as a mighty challenge awaits


IRONMAN World Championship at Nice 2023: Date, start time and how to watch live

Gustav Iden on the run at WTCS Abu Dhabi 2023

Gustav Iden announces that his 2023 season is over

Joe Skipper finished fifth at Challenge Roth 2023

Dollars and sense: Joe Skipper says money WILL talk as triathlon looks for best to race the best

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *