LIVE: Managers of the Year announced on MLB Network

LIVE: Managers of the Year announced on MLB Network

November 14th, 2023

Awards Week continued on Tuesday night with the Manager of the Year honors announced on MLB Network. First-year Marlins skipper Skip Schumaker took home the hardware in the NL and O’s manager Brandon Hyde won it in the AL after shepherding his young team to 101 wins.

National League Manager of the Year

In his first season at the helm, Schumaker led the Marlins to the fourth postseason berth in franchise history — and the first in a non-shortened campaign since 2003.

While Miami was outscored by 57 runs, Schumaker guided the club to an incredible 33-14 record in one-run games, which made a difference in a razor-thin NL Wild Card race.

Schumaker, a former utility player who spent 11 years in the Majors, is the fourth Marlins skipper to win NL Manager of the Year honors, joining Jack McKeon (2003), Joe Girardi (2006) and Don Mattingly (2020).

American League Manager of the Year

When Hyde was hired as the Orioles’ new manager in December 2018, Baltimore was coming off a 115-loss season. It took five years, but Hyde managed to lead the O’s back to success.

Only two years after going 52-110 in 2021, Baltimore won 100 games for the first time since 1980, going 101-61 and edging the Rays to win the AL East. Led by AL Rookie of the Year Gunnar Henderson and a young supporting cast, the O’s seized the division lead for good in July and held it the rest of the way. Baltimore’s season ended in disappointing fashion with a sweep by the Rangers in the AL Division Series, but it was an exciting year for Hyde and the O’s nonetheless.

Hyde became the fourth different Orioles skipper to be named Manager of the Year, joining Buck Showalter (2014), Davey Johnson (1997) and Frank Robinson (1989).

Read More

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *