NCAA Wrestling Championships 2023: Results, Updated Team Standings After Saturday

NCAA Wrestling Championships 2023: Results, Updated Team Standings After Saturday

Doric SamMarch 19, 2023

TULSA, OK - MARCH 17: Carter Starocci of Penn State wins by decision over Chris Foca of Cornell during the Division I Mens Wrestling Championship held at the BOK Center on March 17, 2023 in Tulsa, Oklahoma. (Photo by Shane Bevel/NCAA Photos via Getty Images)

Shane Bevel/NCAA Photos via Getty Images

Champions were crowned at the BOK Center in Tulsa, Oklahoma on Saturday as the 2023 NCAA wrestling championships reached their conclusion.

For the second year in a row, Penn State reigns supreme as national champion after a dominant run. It’s the 11th national title in program history and it completes a dream run for the Nittany Lions, who went 16-0 during the season.

NCAA Wrestling @NCAAWrestling

🏆 NATIONAL CHAMPIONS 🏆@pennstateWREST has mathematically clinched. The Nittany Lions are your 2023 DI Wrestling National Champions!#NCAAWrestling

Here are the results from the final day of action.

2023 NCAA Wrestling Championships Team Standings

1. Penn State: 137.5

2. Iowa: 82.5

3. Cornell: 76.5

4. Ohio State: 70.5

5. Missouri: 64.5

6. Michigan: 58.5

7. Arizona State: 55

8. Nebraska: 54

9. Virginia Tech: 49

10. NC State: 48

Full standings available at

Individual National Champions

  • 125 Pounds: Pat Glory (Princeton) def. Matt Ramos (Purdue)
  • 133 Pounds: Vito Arujau (Cornell) def. Roman Bravo-Young (Penn State)
  • 141 Pounds: Andrew Alirez (Northern Colorado) def. Real Woods (Iowa)
  • 149 Pounds: Yianni Diakomihalis (Cornell) def. Sammy Sasso (Ohio State)
  • 157 Pounds: Austin O’Connor (North Carolina) def. Levi Haines (Penn State)
  • 165 Pounds: Keegan O’Toole (Missouri) def. David Carr (Iowa State)
  • 174 Pounds: Carter Starocci (Penn State) def. Mikey Labriola (Nebraska)
  • 184 Pounds: Aaron Brooks (Penn State) def. Parker Keckeisen (Northern Iowa)
  • 197 Pounds: Nino Bonaccorsi (Pitt) def. Tanner Sloan (South Dakota State)
  • 285 Pounds: Mason Parris (Michigan) def. Greg Kerkvliet (Penn State)


The Nittany Lions have been the class of the college wrestling world since head coach Cael Sanderson was hired in 2009. This year’s group had a pair of wrestlers who became three-time champions.

Carter Starocci continued his run of dominance by pinning Nebraska’s Mikey Labriola early to win his third title at 174 pounds. Aaron Brooks out-pointed top-seeded Parker Keckeisen of Northern Iowa to complete his three-peat at 184 pounds, giving Penn State its eighth title at that weight since 2011.

NCAA Wrestling @NCAAWrestling

3x National Champion, Carter Starocci!

📺 ESPN#NCAAWrestling x @pennstateWREST

NCAA Wrestling @NCAAWrestling

3x National Champion Aaron Brooks attributes his success to his faith.

📺 ESPN#NCAAWrestling x @pennstateWREST

It wasn’t all good news for Penn State, as Roman Bravo-Young had both his bid for a third NCAA title and his 56-match win streak come to an end as he fell in the 133-pound final to Cornell’s Vito Arujau. Levi Haines (157 pounds) and Greg Kerkvliet (285) also fell short in their respective finals against UNC’s Austin O’Connor and Michigan’s Mason Parris.

Saturday’s final match saw some history be made, as Cornell’s Yianni Diakomihalis became the fifth Division I wrestler ever to win four national titles by defeating Ohio State’s Sammy Sasso at 149 pounds.

Cornell Big Red @CornellSports


Yianni Diakomihalis becomes the fifth wrester to become a four-time national champion with a 4-2 win over #2 Sammy Sasso of Ohio State.

4x NCAA champ. 4x All-American. 4x EIWA Wrestler of the Year, 4x Ivy League Wrestler of the Year.#YellCornell

The win by Diakomihalis propelled Cornell to its third-place finish in the team standings behind Penn State and Iowa, which finished second despite not having any individual national champions.

Read More






Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *